Skip to main content

Table 1 Cells that support the different types of human herpesvirus infections.

From: Tegument protein control of latent herpesvirus establishment and animation

Family Virus Productive (Lytic) Replication Site of Latency
α HSV-1 Epithelial and keratinocyte Neuron
  HSV-2 Epithelial and keratinocyte Neuron
  VZV Epithelial, keratinocyte, T cell, sebocyte, monocyte, endothelial, Langerhans and PBMC Neuron
β HCMV Macrophage, dendritic, endothelial, smooth muscle, epithelial and fibroblast CD34+ HSC, monocyte
  HHV-6 T cell BMP
  HHV-7 T cell T cell
γ EBV B cell and epithelial B cell
  KSHV Lymphocyte B cell
  1. Common cell types in which the human herpesviruses, grouped by family, initiate productive lytic infection or establish latency are listed. PBMC, peripheral blood mononuclear cells. HSC, hematopoietic stem cell. BMP, bone marrow progenitor.